• Über uns
  • European Award for Ecological Gardening

European Award for Ecological Gardening 2023

The possibility to submit your project ends in....

0

Days

0

Hours

0

Minutes

0

Seconds

While back in 1974 the world population amounted to only half of the current population, it is set to increase to eight billion by 2023 according to calculations by the United Nations. This is just one of the many reasons why we should start worrying about green spaces and gardens. Consequently, it is up to us humans to come up with a number of solution approaches and ideas for high-quality communal areas and a good common future.

The European Award for Ecological Gardening 2023 is awarding prizes to high-quality projects and achievements, which are based on ecological gardening and which have already been implemented. We are looking for projects which are innovative and sustainable, have a model character and are near-naturally designed, ecologically cultivated and can also include social and economic aspects. The competition is open to anyone. The competition particularly targets gardeners, planning offices, municipalities and local communities, educational institutions, research institutes, initiatives and associations from all European nations.

The initiative Natur im Garten, represented by the Federal Province of Lower Austria as well as the “European Garden Association - Natur im Garten International”, the „Natur im Garten“ GmbH and the “Natur im Garten” Service GmbH will award the “European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021“ as a recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of ecological gardening. The Award, for which participants from all over Europe are eligible, will be handed over by an international expert jury. The jury will select a winning project for each category. Participants to the competition nominated for the prize will be informed in writing and announced on 15 August 2023. The prize award ceremony, during which the winning projects will be announced, will be held on 13 October 2023 in Innsbruck, Austria. For each category, a prize will be awarded to the winning project. The prize is made up of the public prize award ceremony, a special plaque, as well as a prize money of EUR 1.000,00.

Submission: from 15 November 2022 until 31 May 2023

Category 1: Climate-fit municipal green areas

Given that climate change constantly poses new challenges for us, we need intelligent ways of adapting green spaces in the public sphere. Therefore, we are looking for already implemented projects which represent an added value for humans and the environment alike, whether they serve as a place for experiencing nature, as places of recreation, as producers of cold air or as CO2 reducers. At the same time, the focus is on the innovative use of location-appropriate plants as well as on rainwater management, a positive impact on the microclimate and, not least, climate-fit gardening. The availability of a care concept for the sustainability of a given project also plays a major role.

Awards will be given to ecologically valuable projects in public and semi-public green spaces with a permeable ground and a cooling effect, including building greenings, which can be used for a variety of purposes irrespective of their size and which also take into account the region or the environment, such as the origin of the materials used (natural stone, wood, etc.). All projects submitted should reflect aspects of environmental justice, climate protection, energy generation and utilisation in an innovative way.

Category 2: Learning in the Garden – Nature experience gardens in kindergartens, schools and educational institutions

The near-natural garden strengthens the positive relationship of our children and young people with nature, makes it possible to experience contexts and significantly contributes to the development of their environmental awareness. We are looking for new approaches by schools, kindergartens, universities and other educational institutions, which consider gardens as a kind of “third pedagogue“ and have designed them actively for the purposes of exercise, social and action-oriented learning.

No matter whether teachers, students and parents lend a hand together or whether the garden is designed by experts: We highlight innovative, ecological gardens, which are used as a diversified and practice-oriented learning environment for a variety of topics and subjects, as well as for active breaks, sensual experiences and leisure time.

Awards will be given to pedagogically and ecologically valuable projects for learning and teaching in public, semi-public or private green spaces, which, irrespective of their size, can be used for a variety of purposes of research, discovery and natural experience for young and old and can be used in an inclusive way and also take into account the region or the environment. Beyond that, also aspects of environmental justice and climate protection should be reflected in the submitted projects.

Category 3: Gardens for visitors with the focus on raising people´s awareness for more biodiversity and ecological gardening

The ecologisation of gardens and green spaces promotes biodiversity and improves the ecological balance. That is why we are looking for diversified green spaces for visitors, ranging from renaturated industrial areas, city parks, public green spaces to free spaces around company and residential buildings – with the particular focus of conveying biodiversity to people and emphasising ecological gardening and an attitude towards ecological gardening and circular economy as a life-affirming sign of environmental protection and a variety of species. Biodiversity means diversity – a diversity of different habitats, species diversity of animals, plants, mushrooms and microorganisms. Diversified structures in near-natural design, a careful handling of the soil and environment through ecological care are equally as important. In the end, natural und species protection starts directly at our doorstep.

We are hoping to receive a lively mix of implemented submissions, with all of them promoting biodiversity and aiming to encourage imitation – through inventiveness, new solution approaches or innovations and at the same time having the potential to initiate new projects.

Awards will be given to appealing, inspiring and ecologically valuable projects in public, semi-public or private green spaces, balconies and terraces, which, irrespective of their size, represent a real added value for humans and the environment alike and contribute to increasing biodiversity.

(c) L. Mayrhofer, Natur im Garten

Awarding Authority

Awarding Authority for the European Award 2023.

MORE

Conditions for participation

Here you can download the conditions for participation.

Download

SUBMIT

Here you find all information to submit a project.

MORE

FAQs

Frequently asked questions.

MORE

Award Newsletter

We`ll keep you up to date! Sign up for our award newsletter.

MORE

• Über uns
  • European Award for Ecological Gardening

European Award for Ecological Gardening 2023

Die Möglichkeit zur Einreichung endet in....

0

Tage

0

Stunden

0

Minuten

0

Sekunden

Gab es 1974 nur halb so viele Menschen auf der Erde, werden sich laut Berechnungen der Vereinten Nationen 2023 bereits acht Milliarden auf der Erde tummeln. Nur einer von vielen Gründen sich auch Gedanken zu Grünräumen und Gärten zu machen. Wir Menschen brauchen also viele Lösungsansätze und Ideen für qualitätsvolle Aufenthaltsräume und eine gute gemeinsame Zukunft.

Mit dem European Award for Ecological Gardening 2023 werden herausragende, realisierte, qualitativ hochwertige Projekte und Leistungen in drei Kategorien prämiert, die das ökologische Gärtnern zur Grundlage haben. Gesucht wurden innovative wie nachhaltige Projekte mit Vorbildcharakter, die naturnah gestaltet sind, ökologisch gepflegt werden, und auch soziale und wirtschaftliche Aspekte einbinden können. Die Teilnahme steht allen frei. Besonders angesprochen sind Gärtner*innen, Planungsbüros, Gemeinden & Kommunen, Bildungseinrichtungen, Forschungseinrichtungen, Initiativen und Vereine aus allen europäischen Nationen.

„Natur im Garten“, vertreten durch das Land Niederösterreich und dem Verein „European Garden Association - Natur im Garten International“, der „Natur im Garten“ GmbH sowie der „Natur im Garten“ Service GmbH verleihen diesen Preis zur Anerkennung herausragender ökologischer gärtnerischer Leistungen. Die europaweite Auszeichnung erfolgt durch eine internationale Fachjury. Die Jury wählt pro Kategorie ein Gewinnerprojekt aus. Alle nominierten Projekte werden am 15. August 2023 bekannt gegeben. Die Preisverleihung mit Bekanntgabe der Siegerprojekte findet am 13. Oktober 2023 in Innsbruck statt. Für jede Kategorie wird ein Preis für das Siegerprojekt vergeben. Der Preis setzt sich zusammen aus der öffentlichen Preisverleihung sowie einer Sonderplakette und einem Preisgeld in Höhe von EUR 1.000,00.

Einreichfrist: 15. November 2022 – 31. Mai 2023

Kategorie 1: Klimafitte kommunale Grünflächen

Weil der Klimawandel uns vor immer neue Herausforderungen stellt, braucht es intelligente Wege zur Anpassung von Grünräumen im öffentlichen Raum. Gesucht sind aus diesem Grund bereits realisierte Projekte, die einen Mehrwert für Mensch und Umwelt darstellen, ob als Naturerfahrungs- und Erholungsräume als Kaltluftproduzenten oder CO2-Senken. Die innovative Verwendung standortgerechter Pflanzen stehen dabei ebenso im Fokus wie das Regenwassermanagement, das positive Einwirken auf das Kleinklima und nicht zuletzt klimafittes Gärtnern. Das Vorhandensein eines Pflegekonzepts für die Nachhaltigkeit des Projekts steht ebenfalls im Vordergrund.

Ausgezeichnet werden ökologisch wertvolle Projekte auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen Grünflächen, die versickerungsfähig sind und kühlen, mit Gebäudebegrünungen, die unabhängig von ihrer Größe, vielfältig nutzbar sind und Region oder Umfeld miteinbeziehen, z. B. durch die Herkunft der verwendeten Materialien (Naturstein, Holz, etc.). Aspekte von Umweltgerechtigkeit, Klimaschutz, Energiegewinnung und –nutzung sollen sich in den eingereichten Projekten auf innovative Weise abbilden.

Kategorie 2: Lernen im Garten – Naturerlebnisgärten in Kindergärten, Schulen und Bildungseinrichtungen

Der naturnahe Garten stärkt die positive Beziehung unserer Kinder und Jugendlichen zur Natur, macht Zusammenhänge erlebbar und trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung ihres Umweltbewusstseins bei. Wir suchen neue Ansätze von Schulen, Kindergärten, Universitäten und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen, die – nach der Lehrkraft und den Kindern - den Garten als „dritten Pädagogen“ verstehen und ihn aktiv für Bewegung, soziales und handlungsorientiertes Lernen gestaltet haben.

Ob nun Lehrkräfte, Schüler*innen und Eltern hier gemeinsam Hand anlegen oder er von Fachleuten konzipiert ist: Wir holen innovative, ökologische Gärten vor den Vorhang, die als vielfältiges und praxisnahes Lernumfeld für unterschiedliche Themen und Unterrichtsfächer wie auch für bewegte Pausen, Sinneserfahrungen und Freizeit genutzt werden.

Ausgezeichnet werden pädagogisch und ökologisch wertvolle Projekte fürs Lernen und Lehren auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen oder privaten Grünflächen. Unabhängig von ihrer Größe sind sie vielfältig fürs Forschen, Entdecken und Naturerlebnis für Groß und Klein und inklusiv nutzbar und beziehen auch die Region oder das Umfeld mit ein. Auch Aspekte von Umweltgerechtigkeit und Klimaschutz sollen sich in den eingereichten Projekten abbilden.

Kategorie 3: Gärten für BesucherInnen mit dem Schwerpunkt der Sensibilisierung von Menschen für mehr Biodiversität und ökologischen Gärtnern.

Die Ökologisierung von Gärten und Grünräumen fördert die Artenvielfalt und verbessert die Ökobilanz. Deshalb werden vom renaturierten Gewerbegebiet, von Stadtparks, über öffentliche Grünflächen bis hin zu Freiräumen bei Firmen- oder Wohngebäuden vielfältige Grünräume für Besucher*innen gesucht - mit dem speziellen Fokus Menschen die Biodiversität zu vermitteln und bei ihnen als lebensbejahende Zeichen für Umweltschutz und Artenvielfalt ökologisches Gärtnern und Kreislaufdenken in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Biodiversität heißt Vielfalt - Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Lebensräumen, Artenreichtum bei Tieren, Pflanzen, Pilzen und Mikroorganismen. Vielfältige Strukturen bei der naturnahen Gestaltung, ein schonender Umgang mit Boden und der Umwelt durch ökologische Pflege sind ebenso maßgebend. Natur- und Artenschutz beginnt schließlich direkt vor der Haustüre.

Wir wünschen uns einen lebhaften Mix an umgesetzten Einreichungen, die alle Biodiversität fördern und zur Nachahmung anregen sollen – durch Ideenreichtum, neue Lösungsansätze oder Innovationen und gleichzeitig das Potenzial haben, neue Projekte anzustoßen.

Ausgezeichnet werden ansprechende, inspirierende und ökologisch wertvolle Projekte auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen oder privaten Grünflächen, Balkone & Terrassen unabhängig von ihrer Größe, die einen echten Mehrwert für Mensch und Umwelt darstellen und ein Beitrag zur Erhöhung der Biodiversität sind.

(c) L. Mayrhofer, Natur im Garten

 

 

 

Ausloberkonsortium

Auslober European Award for Ecological Gardening 2023.

MEHR

Teilnahmebedingungen

Hier können Sie die Teilnahmebedingungen downloaden.

Download

EINREICHEN

Anleitung und Möglichkeit zur Einreichung.

Weiter

FAQs

Häufig gestellte Fragen und Antworten.

MEHR

Award Newsletter

Wir halten Sie auf dem Laufenden! Melden Sie sich zu unserem Award Newsletter an.

Mehr