European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021

(c) Stadtgemeinde Tulln

The European Award for Ecological Gardening sees itself as a European project with a strong connection to the earth. Fire, water, earth, air - the Greek philosophers already saw the four elements as basic components of all being: The four cardinal points and the four seasons also show that the four as a number have a strong bond with earth and nature. This connectedness will also be used in the fourth competition in a row from November 2020 to May 2021.

With that in mind, this time there will be three closely related categories:

Category 1: Promoting biodiversity in gardens and green areas

Biodiversity means diversity – diversity of different living spaces, diversity of animal and plant species, mushrooms and microorganisms. At the same time, diverse structures also play an important role when it comes to near-natural design and careful soil and environmental management through ecological care – because ultimately, nature and species protection starts right at our front door.
The projects that can be submitted and have already been implemented have the potential to generate quite colourful mixtures: Consequently, renaturated industrial areas, school grounds, city parks, public green areas, free spaces in company and residential buildings, as well as many other projects can be submitted. In these projects, the promotion of biological diversity is requirement.
Prizes will be awarded to appealing, inspiring and ecologically valuable projects in public, semi-public or private green areas, which – irrespective of their size – create a real added value for humans and the environment and contribute to increasing biodiversity.

Category 2: Climate-friendly gardens, green areas and greening of buildings

Climate change presents new challenges for us. More and more intelligent ways are needed to adapt our gardens and green spaces to climate change. For this reason, we are looking for already implemented projects that create an added value for residents and the environment alike inside settlements. During the assessment process, particular attention will be given to a location-appropriate selection of plants, the intelligent use of rainwater, the improvement of the microclimate, as well as climate-fit gardening. At the same time, the focus will also be laid on the existence of a nursing concept for the sustainability of the given project.

Prizes will be awarded to ecologically valuable projects in public, semi-public or private green areas and building greenings, which – irrespective of their size – can be used for multiple purposes and also integrate the region or their surroundings, such as the origin of materials used (natural stone, wood, etc.). Also aspects of fair environmental conditions, climate protection, as well as the generation and use of energy are intended to reflect the projects in an innovative way.

Category 3: Gardens for health, care and therapy

Gardens and green spaces mean freedom, adventure, recreation and livelihood. Consequently, it is no accident that gardens and green spaces are also increasingly being used in hospitals, rehabilitation and addiction treatment centres, facilities for people with disabilities and residential homes for senior citizens, as well as in schools and kindergartens as a health-promoting or therapeutic tool. This way of extending the living space and spectrum of perception not only contributes to a better quality of life for its users but also offers health-care staff new possibilities in their professional environment. As a result, gardens for health, care and therapy also create a new form of togetherness.

In this category, gardens and green areas belonging to hospitals, residential homes for senior citizens, therapeutic institutions, as well as garden-therapeutic education and similar institutions can be submitted, which additionally promote the health and well-being inside the green areas connected to them. Criteria also include an exemplary quality of stay and care, as well as the involvement of gardens in therapeutic concepts.

Prizes will be awarded to ecologically valuable projects, which have already been implemented in public, semi-public or private green areas, irrespective of their size. Furthermore, these projects can be used for multiple purposes and integrate the region or their surroundings, such as the origin of the materials used (natural stone, wood, etc.).

Submission: from 15 November 2020 until 31 May 2021

The submission period ends in

0

Days

0

Hours

0

Minutes

0

Seconds

The European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021 is awarding prizes to high-quality projects and achievements, which are based on ecological gardening and which have already been implemented. We are looking for projects which are innovative and sustainable, have a model character and are near-naturally designed, ecologically cultivated and can also include social and economic aspects. The Award is aimed at gardeners, planners, municipalities & local authorities, educational institutions and associations from all European nations.

Put your own project on the international stage – as part of the European Award for Ecological Gardening.

The initiative Natur im Garten, represented by the Federal Province of Lower Austria as well as the “European Garden Association - Natur im Garten International” and the „Natur im Garten“ GmbH will award the “European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021“ as a recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of ecological gardening.

The jury will select a winning project for each category. Participants to the competition nominated for the prize will be informed in writing and announced on 15 August 2021. The prize award ceremony, during which the winning projects will be announced, will be held on 6 October 2021 on the island of Mainau in Germany.

Prize moneys

For each category, a prize will be awarded to the winning project. The prize is made up of the public prize award ceremony, a special plaque, as well as a prize money of EUR 1.000,00. In addition to that, the winners will be published on the www.naturimgarten.at website, also including press work.

  

Submission

Here you can submit your project for the "European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021".

Conditions for participation

MORE

Jury and assessment procedure

Jury European Award for Ecological Gardening

Mehr

Award Newsletter

We`ll keep you up to date! Sign up for our award newsletter.

MORE

Awarding Authority

Awarding Authority „European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021”

MORE

FAQs

Frequently asked questions and answers.

MORE

European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021

Als ein der Erde stark verbundenes europäisches Projekt versteht sich der European Award for Ecological Gardening. Feuer, Wasser, Erde, Luft – schon die griechischen Philosophen sahen die vier Elemente als Grundbestandteile allen Seins: Auch die vier Himmelsrichtungen und die vier Jahreszeiten zeigen, dass die Vier als Zahl eine starke Bindung zur Erde und Natur hat. Diese Verbundenheit wird auch im mittlerweile vierten Wettbewerb in Folge von November 2020 bis Mai 2021 in den Vordergrund treten.

Ganz in diesem Sinne wird es im diesmaligen Wettbewerb drei nah verwandte Kategorien geben:

Kategorie 1: Förderung von Biodiversität in Gärten und Grünflächen

Biodiversität heißt Vielfalt - Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Lebensräumen, Artenreichtum bei Tieren, Pflanzen, Pilzen und Mikroorganismen. Gleichzeitig sind auch vielfältige Strukturen bei der naturnahen Gestaltung, schonender Umgang mit Boden und der Umwelt durch ökologische Pflege maßgeblich. Natur- und Artenschutz beginnt schließlich direkt vor der Haustüre.

Die einreichbaren und bereits umgesetzten Projekte dürfen eine kunterbunte Mischung ergeben: So können etwa renaturierte Gewerbegebiete, Schulgelände, Stadtparks, öffentliche Grünflächen bis hin zu Freiräumen bei Firmen- oder Wohngebäuden und vieles mehr eingereicht werden. Voraussetzung ist, dass mit diesen Projekten die Biodiversität gefördert wird. Im Idealfall geht von den Projekten eine „Nachahmerwirkung“ aus, weil sie etwa über Ideenreichtum, neue Lösungsansätze oder Innovationen und zudem über das Potenzial verfügen, neue Projekte anzustoßen.

Ausgezeichnet werden ansprechende, inspirierende und ökologisch wertvolle Projekte auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen oder privaten Grünflächen, unabhängig von ihrer Größe, die einen echten Mehrwert für Mensch und Umwelt darstellen und ein Beitrag zur Erhöhung der Biodiversität sind.

Kategorie 2: Klimafitte Gärten, Grünflächen und Gebäudebegrünungen

Der Klimawandel stellt uns vor neue Herausforderungen. Immer mehr braucht es intelligente Wege zur Anpassung unserer Gärten und Grünräume an den Klimawandel. Gesucht sind deshalb verwirklichte Projekte, die einen Mehrwert für die BewohnerInnen und die Umwelt innerhalb von Siedlungen schaffen. Besonderes Augenmerk bei der Beurteilung wird auf eine standortgerechte Pflanzenauswahl, den intelligenten Umgang mit Regenwasser, auf die Verbesserung des Kleinklimas und auf klimafittes Gärtnern gelegt. Das Vorhandensein eines Pflegekonzepts für die Nachhaltigkeit des Projekts steht dabei ebenfalls im Vordergrund.

Ausgezeichnet werden ökologisch wertvolle Projekte auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen oder privaten Grünflächen und Gebäudebegrünungen, die unabhängig von ihrer Größe, vielfältig nutzbar sind und Region oder Umfeld miteinbeziehen, z. B. durch die Herkunft der verwendeten Materialien (Naturstein, Holz, etc.). Auch Aspekte von Umweltgerechtigkeit, Klimaschutz, Energiegewinnung und –nutzung sollen die Projekte auf innovative Weise abbilden.

Kategorie 3: Gärten für Gesundheit, Pflege und Therapie

Gärten und Grünräume bedeuten Freiraum, Abenteuer, Erholung und Lebensgrundlage. Daher werden Gärten und Grünräume vermehrt auch an Krankenhäusern, Rehabilitations- und Suchtbehandlungszentren, Behinderteneinrichtungen, Seniorenwohnheimen sowie an Schulen und Kindergärten als gesundheitsförderndes oder therapeutisches Instrument eingesetzt. Diese Erweiterung des Lebensraumes und Wahrnehmungsspektrums trägt nicht nur zur Steigerung der Lebensqualität der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sondern bietet auch dem Personal im Gesundheitsbereich neue Möglichkeiten im Berufsumfeld. Gärten für Gesundheit, Pflege und Therapie schaffen somit auch eine neue Form des Miteinanders.

In dieser Kategorie können Garten- und Grünanlagen von Krankenhäusern, Seniorenheimen und therapeutischen Einrichtungen sowie gartentherapeutische Bildungseinrichtungen und dergleichen eingereicht werden, die Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden innerhalb ihrer Grünräume zusätzlich fördern. Eine vorbildliche Aufenthalts- und Betreuungsqualität sowie die Einbindung der Gartenanlagen in therapeutische Konzepte zählen mit zu den Kriterien.

Ausgezeichnet werden ökologisch wertvoll umgesetzte Projekte auf öffentlichen, halböffentlichen oder privaten Grünflächen, unabhängig von ihrer Größe. Die Projekte sind darüber hinaus vielfältig nutzbar und beziehen Region oder das Umfeld mit ein, z. B. durch die Herkunft der verwendeten Materialien (Naturstein, Holz, etc.).

Einreichfrist: 15. November 2020 – 31. Mai 2021

Die Einreichphase endet in

0

Tage

0

Stunden

0

Minuten

0

Sekunden

Mit dem European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021 werden herausragende, realisierte, qualitativ hochwertige Projekte und Leistungen in drei Kategorien prämiert, die das ökologische Gärtnern zur Grundlage haben. Gesucht werden innovative wie nachhaltige Projekte mit Vorbildcharakter, die naturnah gestaltet sind, ökologisch gepflegt werden, und auch soziale und wirtschaftliche Aspekte einbinden können. Die Auszeichnung richtet sich an Gärtnerinnen und Gärtner, Planerinnen und Planer, Gemeinden & Kommunen, Bildungseinrichtungen und Vereinen aus allen europäischen Nationen.

Präsentieren Sie Ihr Projekt einer internationalen Bühne - im Rahmen des European Award for Ecological Gardening.

„Natur im Garten“, vertreten durch das Land Niederösterreich und den Verein „European Garden Association - Natur im Garten International“ und die „Natur im Garten“ GmbH verleihen diesen Preis zur Anerkennung herausragender ökologischer gärtnerischer Leistungen.

Die Jury wählt pro Kategorie ein Gewinnerprojekt aus. Alle nominierten Projekte werden am 15. August 2021 bekannt gegeben. Die Preisverleihung mit Bekanntgabe der Siegerprojekte findet am 6. Oktober 2021 auf der Insel Mainau in Deutschland statt.

Preis

Für jede Kategorie wird ein Preis für das Siegerprojekt vergeben. Der Preis setzt sich zusammen aus der öffentlichen Preisverleihung sowie einer Sonderplakette und einem Preisgeld in Höhe von EUR 1.000,00. Begleitend dazu erfolgt die Veröffentlichung im Rahmen der Pressearbeit und die Gewinner werden auf www.naturimgarten.at veröffentlicht.

  

Einreichung

Hier können Sie ihr Projekt für den "European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021" einreichen.

Teilnahmebedingungen

WEITER

Award Newsletter

Wir halten Sie auf dem Laufenden! Melden Sie sich zu unserem Award Newsletter an.

Mehr

Ausloberkonsortium

Auslober European Award for Ecological Gardening 2021

MEHR

FAQs

Häufig gestellte Fragen und Antworten.

MEHR